February 21, 2009

Facebook Worm

So Facebook users have been receiving notifications stating something along the lines of:

[friend's name] has faced some errors when checking your profile
Followed by a link that is supposed to allow you to "view the errors message." If you click on that link, you will be asked to activate an application named "Error Check System."


Let me repeat that:


It is some kind of spyware/malware/worm that I'm guessing takes your infomation and gives the author access to that information, including access to your page. It also appears to send itself on to people on your friends list, claiming to be from you.

If you've already activated it, or you find it in your list of applications, I would immediately delete it, and change your password. Don't know if it's already too late, but it couldn't hurt.

No comments:

Post a Comment